Skip to content

Lamb of God to commemorate 20th Anniversary of ‘Ashes of the Wake’ with deluxe edition

  • by

Lamb of God will commemorate the 20th anniversary of their seminal album Ashes of the Wake with a deluxe reissue set for release on August 30th.  Ashes of the Wake features such songs as “Laid to Rest,” “Now You’ve Got Something to Die For,” and the title track.

The deluxe reissue features the original tracklist from Ashes of the Wake, plus new remixes and previously unreleased demos and live versions, as well as an updated rendition of “Another Nail for Your Coffin” will feature guest vocals from Kublai Khan TX’s Matt Honeycutt and Malevolence’s Alex Taylor (you can take a listen: here.)

Lamb of God singer Randy Blythe state: “I’m not much for re-recording our existing material — old songs are a snapshot of where we were as a band at that time, for better or worse. But when the idea came up to have a guest vocalist re-do my parts on ‘Another Nail for Your Coffin,’ I was all for it, especially if we could get two younger heavy hitters to bring a fresh approach to the song. Anyone who has seen Malevolence and Kublai Khan TX know that Alex and Matt crush it – it’s an honor to have these dudes bring new life to the tune 20 years after we first recorded it.” Guitarist Mark Morton added, “Matt and Alex both absolutely spit flames on this new, updated version, and gave it a ferocious modern energy. I’m glad to see this tune get some shine after all this time!”

Lamb of God will also be performing Ashes of the Wake in full on their co-headlining summer ‘Ashes of  Leviathan’ tour alongside Mastodon – who will be performing their classic album Leviathan in its entirety.

The reissue is available for pre-order in various formats, including standard black vinyl, “Yellow Smoke” 2-LP vinyl, and a 2-CD set.  To pre-order the deluxe edition of Ashes of the Wake, head here.

Editorial credit: Taya Ovod / Shutterstock.comdit: /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *